SkyscraperPage Forum

SkyscraperPage Forum (http://forum.skyscraperpage.com/index.php)
-   Google Sketchup (http://forum.skyscraperpage.com/forumdisplay.php?f=159)
-   -   Can i change Google Sketch-up to metric? (http://forum.skyscraperpage.com/showthread.php?t=131932)

Mocholate May 25, 2007 12:05 PM

Can i change Google Sketch-up to metric?
 
Hi :previous: I cant find any help in the program
thanks for your help :cheers:

Mocholate May 25, 2007 12:10 PM

most of our tape measures here don't have Imperial measurements either

Imperar May 26, 2007 4:57 PM

YES YOU CAN!!!!!!!!!!!

to change from OLD, CRAPPY IMPERIAL UNITS, TO MODERNIZED, METRIC UNITS you must:

GO TO: WINDOWS>MODEL INFO>UNITS

NOW GET TO WORK KOMRAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

SomeFormOFhuman May 27, 2007 12:37 AM

You know in Singapore we had abandoned the Imperial System long ago, in the 60s. Ever since, we're using the metric system, milimeters, centimeters, and meters. In architecture, we always used milimeters (mm) as the accuracy count is more precise as it rarely has decimal or a quater.

Really? I'm suprised that you say the Imperial is crappy. :haha: Well I have not tried using Imperial system, but I know how to use inches and feet well, its pretty relative in pattern.

I use the Metric system (mm) in Sketchup when I make any complicated study models all the time.

Mocholate May 27, 2007 1:29 AM

Imagine how good the US could be if they did away with it !

FFS its blooooooody anoying ,haha

thanks Imperar :)

Imperar May 28, 2007 5:21 PM

lol no problemo ;p :D

Dalreg May 28, 2007 11:12 PM

Nothing wrong with the good old Imperial system. If one is familiar with it, it is just as good as metric or better. All a matter of preference.

Trantor Jun 21, 2007 3:44 PM

hmmm... when I installed Sketchup it asked, right there, in the installation, if i wanted metrics (first choice) or imperial.

Mocholate Jun 22, 2007 11:53 AM

not me , i had to make a thread :jester:

Mocholate Jun 22, 2007 11:59 AM

its really crazy , when you say e.g 1/16 of an inch you are saying 2.54 cm divided by 16 x 1 anyway ,may aswell just use metric :haha:

Peter Jun 22, 2007 6:54 PM

i think the metric system makes more sense since it's much more easier to convert numbers, but since i've been around the imperial all my life that's what i'm used to so i prefer to use it instead.

Mocholate Jun 22, 2007 7:32 PM

i understand that , here too older folk use imperial. and in the transport industry we still make measurements in feet and yards but imperial tape measures aren't common
i've tried using it but yeah its hard to change


All times are GMT. The time now is 6:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.