SkyscraperPage Forum

SkyscraperPage Forum (http://forum.skyscraperpage.com/index.php)
-   Google Sketchup (http://forum.skyscraperpage.com/forumdisplay.php?f=159)
-   -   Google Sketchup Updates/Questions/Tips (http://forum.skyscraperpage.com/showthread.php?t=140789)

Aleks Dec 10, 2007 11:50 PM

This has to do something with Sketchup.

Does anybody know the file name or how I can get to lights that will work on Kerk?

Mocholate Dec 14, 2007 9:29 AM

You needa use the Kerk lights
Go here and download the new 3.0 SU to Kerk exporter with light components included
http://www.kerkythea.net/joomla/inde...fileinfo&id=60

or download just the Kerk light components for 2.0 here
http://www.kerkythea.net/joomla/inde...=fileinfo&id=5

Aleks Dec 15, 2007 3:46 AM

No grammar. No. Just remember to add capital letters at the beginning of each sentence. I don't think any internet type thingy has both.

Anyways, back to topic. I'm making a Sketchup house and I plan on adding a 4 floor atrium (40 ft.). I also plan on putting a palm or 2 in the patio inside the atrium. Would palms look good with a mix of evergreens of just tropical plans?

Austin55 Dec 16, 2007 6:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aleks0o01 (Post 3229813)
Sorry about the off-topic comment but does anybody know why Nate the Great was banned?

Hallalujah

opps,Sketchy Pyhsics accidentaly turned on while I was working on SF,I grabbed hold of the grid and the city exploded!
http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x...n5555/sp-1.jpg
:haha: :haha: :haha:
also,Here's something handy I made,a 2d-3d tree! its a picture of a 3d tree,it keeps the file size nice and small
http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x...55/tree1-1.gif

verticalextropy Dec 21, 2007 2:19 PM

wow earthquake in san felix!

I should say I began using plugins, here is the mirror plugin for example, quiet usefull: http://groups.google.com/group/Ruby-...rror.rb?part=2
just paste the file in google/sketchup/plugins and it'll appear on the plugins menu

verticalextropy Dec 21, 2007 2:19 PM

actually that SF shot looks as if god was bowling and the scrapers were the pins

Aleks Dec 22, 2007 12:52 AM

I never got what Sketchup Physics did.

That tree thing was a smart idea! Anyways, here are some cool things I found: Link. It's called Sketchup Case Studies and the things in there are amazing. Really! If you haven't seen it look at it because somethings in there look like they were made using 2000 dollar softwares.

verticalextropy Dec 22, 2007 1:56 AM

very cool alex, I specially liked Max Gable's job:
http://www.maxgabl.com/Content/Matte_Paintings.html

Aleks Dec 22, 2007 11:15 PM

Aye! I'm Kerk-tarded! How can I make my buildings shiny without disrupting the color?

I don't want every building shiny just some and maybe windows. I also don't want to use the basic pack because they change the color of what I originally wanted or the glass is too thin.

verticalextropy Dec 23, 2007 2:48 AM

u don't need to apply glass to make shiny bling. Just keep the SU material, and EDIT material, and increase REFLECTION ,
tell us how it goes

Austin55 Dec 23, 2007 9:11 AM

Im Kerk tarded to:P


Skethcy pyhsics Plane hitting barn:haha:
(give a senond to load,GIF File)
http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x...5/barndone.gif

Aleks Jan 6, 2008 12:39 AM

So. Ummm...is there a way of creating your own terrain? I want to make one using a picture of an actual city but I want it to be colored not back & white like when you import a view from Goggle Earth.

I have the map in the model but when I make the actual shape of the terrain (hills) and paint that same shape the picture comes out all funky.

Austin55 Jan 6, 2008 2:56 AM

:previous: Theres the terrian tool...

or you could use High-tech satalites to scan the face of earth and transform that data into a 3d model like google!:banana:

:rolleyes:

Austin55 Jan 6, 2008 7:57 PM

why are my textures doing this?
http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x...stin5555/v.png
see the black buildings? there not supposed to look like that. also some textures shrink down to their smmallest size(top middle). I can fix it real quick by clicking on the component,but clicking on 5-10 building every time I open the file gets really monotonus.

treras93 Jan 7, 2008 1:57 AM

ok, when i make a big plot of land and i use the "position camera" tool to get a ground view half the land disappears

http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/b.../Stratford.jpg

why is this? and is there any way to avoid it

treras93 Feb 22, 2008 11:30 PM

Delete Post

Austin55 Feb 24, 2008 10:43 PM

My prob solved. Can anyone answer treres? that bugs me to

tips for easy grids

start with this

http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x...stin5555/r.jpg

copy
http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x...tin5555/r2.jpg

build
http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x...tin5555/r3.jpg

Patrick Feb 25, 2008 3:08 AM

Oh how easy it would be if Staunton had grids! :yes:

I do the area's terrain first, then draw the street plan over it, not fun since sketchup's lines are on an Axis and it can be quite frustrating.

akres15 Feb 26, 2008 11:58 PM

oh yeah i jsut finished the grid for my city its lookin good im hopin this time it will be a sussess its small but its a good start ill have a site with pics sone ill post when open

bmfarley Mar 2, 2008 10:27 PM

Photo importing
 
Got a question... I've been thinking of moeling a couple-few actual buildings in San Diego by creating the structure and importing a photo and attaching. I'm a noob to this and I am on the steep part of the learnign curve; however, I seem to be able to do this okay.

The problem I am having, once I save and place in Google Earth (on my comp only and not via internet).... some of the photo's don't show on the correct surface. Anyone els notice this and have a work-around? Solution?

I've been thinking of simpifying the photo file name from the default created from digital camera.


All times are GMT. The time now is 2:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.