SkyscraperPage Forum

SkyscraperPage Forum (https://skyscraperpage.com/forum/index.php)
-   Manitoba & Saskatchewan (https://skyscraperpage.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=129)
-   -   City of Winnipeg Politics | Municipal (https://skyscraperpage.com/forum/showthread.php?t=197147)

chrisallard5454 Jan 18, 2012 6:48 PM

City of Winnipeg Politics | Municipal

So it seems Katz may be out of the job if he loses a court battle to Joe Chan. I disagree with the spending of public money on a Christmas Party, but to do it in a restaurant you own, that is just plain ballsy.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/manito...-winnipeg.html

1ajs Jan 18, 2012 7:33 PM

aww really?

cheswick Jan 18, 2012 11:59 PM

I can understand he issue with using his restsurant but those that complain about tax money going to perks like this I don't quite follow their logic.

I work in the private sector and got a company paid for holiday party. The government competes against the private sector to hire people. Similar perks that are available in the private sector should be available to government employees if they want to attract similar level of talent. Should all government employees make minimum wage as to not waste taxpayer money? Of course not. Not sure how giving the employees a Christmas lunch is any different. It's simply a form of compensation available to similar employees in the private sector.

1ajs Jan 19, 2012 12:53 AM

what hes complaining about is a confilic of interest and as a result katz is breaking the law he can be forced to vacate his position and or be forced to pay it back if found guilty

vid Jan 19, 2012 1:21 AM

If government employees were all minimum wage workers, we'd be in a truly sorry state. If you think the government wastes money now, just stick a bunch of people who skills are worth $10.25/hour in charge and see how much worse things get.

Kinguni Jan 19, 2012 4:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chrisallard5454 (Post 5554690)