SkyscraperPage Forum

SkyscraperPage Forum (http://forum.skyscraperpage.com/index.php)
-   Google Sketchup (http://forum.skyscraperpage.com/forumdisplay.php?f=159)
-   -   Google Sketchup Updates/Questions/Tips (http://forum.skyscraperpage.com/showthread.php?t=140789)

Fabricio JF Jan 20, 2013 11:47 PM

I use Sketchup to measure the height of buildings in 3D environment and I confess that it is very complex due to synchronization of axes red, green and blue with the 3D image. Is there another easy way? Thank you!

Skydragon42 Sep 2, 2013 8:00 PM

Should I switch to sketch-up 2013, or keep using the older version 8?
I've herd some very bad reviews about the new version, so I'm hesitant about upgrading.

gregSt Sep 7, 2013 8:39 AM

If version 8 works for you then I would not recommend the upgrade, because I gave 2013 a try and have to say that the negative reviews are true. With 2013 you are forced to install a "Pro" test version, then you are forced to use it for 8 hours and can't skip it. Even after the evaluation period is over, every time you launch Sketchup a license screen pops up instead of the file. When using the orbit tool additional license error messages pop up. It gets really annoying. Sketchup 8 on the other hand works perfectly, with no errors or license crap. So I uninstalled 2013 and went back to 8! :tup:

Skydragon42 Sep 7, 2013 5:54 PM

Ok thank you, I'll be sure to keep a back-up of sketch-up 8 then.

Jonboy1983 Sep 25, 2013 12:25 AM

Ok, having more isues with Sketchup. No matter what I do, I cannot get these rectangles to close!!!

http://i913.photobucket.com/albums/a...psef85096e.jpg

I'm trying to draw the segmented lines you'd typically find on a multi-lane street. I'm drawing my vision for Pittsburgh's Chateau/Manchester neighborhood, and this is my idea for the Beaver Ave. Expressway which will be converted to a large urban surface boulevard with on-street parking, a wide bike land, and a LRT extension going down the median...

Jonboy1983 Sep 25, 2013 3:29 AM

^^^ Disregard that. I found a solution. :)

Skydragon42 Nov 8, 2013 7:16 PM

Ok so I had this strange problem with sketchup today.
When I was using the position camera tool (set at five foot six eye hight) part of the ground of my model disappeared:( I don't know why so here is a photo.
http://i1116.photobucket.com/albums/...ps3d8cfc50.jpg[/URL]
So yea I need to know how to fix it.

Vellu Nov 9, 2013 7:15 PM

I have the same problem when my model gets big in terms of dimensions. In your case this is probably due to the addition of that long river. This is some kind of bug in SketchUp. If you aren't using the newest version, then maybe you could try it.

Skydragon42 Nov 11, 2013 3:29 AM

^^^^^
The problem with that is I've heard some very bad things about the new version, and am afraid that if I download it I will not be able to get the old one back.

Skydragon42 Dec 14, 2014 7:12 PM

Ok, can anyone tell me how to make a bridge?
I've just tried, and it was terrible!

samjonas Sep 27, 2019 4:51 PM

From video tips and formal learning tracks to wifi access guides to user forum, we're here to help.


All times are GMT. The time now is 6:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.