HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum
     

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Urban Art > Google Sketchup


Reply

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
     
     
  #1  
Old Posted May 25, 2007, 12:05 PM
Mocholate's Avatar
Mocholate Mocholate is offline
nuttin
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney,Down Under
Posts: 2,358
Can i change Google Sketch-up to metric?

Hi I cant find any help in the program
thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #2  
Old Posted May 25, 2007, 12:10 PM
Mocholate's Avatar
Mocholate Mocholate is offline
nuttin
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney,Down Under
Posts: 2,358
most of our tape measures here don't have Imperial measurements either
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #3  
Old Posted May 26, 2007, 4:57 PM
Imperar's Avatar
Imperar Imperar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 359
YES YOU CAN!!!!!!!!!!!

to change from OLD, CRAPPY IMPERIAL UNITS, TO MODERNIZED, METRIC UNITS you must:

GO TO: WINDOWS>MODEL INFO>UNITS

NOW GET TO WORK KOMRAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #4  
Old Posted May 27, 2007, 12:37 AM
SomeFormOFhuman's Avatar
SomeFormOFhuman SomeFormOFhuman is offline
Making hell of a noise...
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Zingapeour
Posts: 757
You know in Singapore we had abandoned the Imperial System long ago, in the 60s. Ever since, we're using the metric system, milimeters, centimeters, and meters. In architecture, we always used milimeters (mm) as the accuracy count is more precise as it rarely has decimal or a quater.

Really? I'm suprised that you say the Imperial is crappy. Well I have not tried using Imperial system, but I know how to use inches and feet well, its pretty relative in pattern.

I use the Metric system (mm) in Sketchup when I make any complicated study models all the time.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #5  
Old Posted May 27, 2007, 1:29 AM
Mocholate's Avatar
Mocholate Mocholate is offline
nuttin
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney,Down Under
Posts: 2,358
Imagine how good the US could be if they did away with it !

FFS its blooooooody anoying ,haha

thanks Imperar
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #6  
Old Posted May 28, 2007, 5:21 PM
Imperar's Avatar
Imperar Imperar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 359
lol no problemo ;p
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #7  
Old Posted May 28, 2007, 11:12 PM
Dalreg's Avatar
Dalreg Dalreg is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 1,769
Nothing wrong with the good old Imperial system. If one is familiar with it, it is just as good as metric or better. All a matter of preference.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #8  
Old Posted Jun 21, 2007, 3:44 PM
Trantor's Avatar
Trantor Trantor is offline
FUS RO DAH!
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Ecumenopolis
Posts: 15,535
hmmm... when I installed Sketchup it asked, right there, in the installation, if i wanted metrics (first choice) or imperial.
__________________
________________________________________
Easy, Tychus. This ain´t science fiction
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #9  
Old Posted Jun 22, 2007, 11:53 AM
Mocholate's Avatar
Mocholate Mocholate is offline
nuttin
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney,Down Under
Posts: 2,358
not me , i had to make a thread
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #10  
Old Posted Jun 22, 2007, 11:59 AM
Mocholate's Avatar
Mocholate Mocholate is offline
nuttin
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney,Down Under
Posts: 2,358
its really crazy , when you say e.g 1/16 of an inch you are saying 2.54 cm divided by 16 x 1 anyway ,may aswell just use metric
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #11  
Old Posted Jun 22, 2007, 6:54 PM
Peter's Avatar
Peter Peter is offline
Registered Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 1,067
i think the metric system makes more sense since it's much more easier to convert numbers, but since i've been around the imperial all my life that's what i'm used to so i prefer to use it instead.
__________________
|| OTAHITA || SABAL ISLAND ||
Google SketchUp Cities
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #12  
Old Posted Jun 22, 2007, 7:32 PM
Mocholate's Avatar
Mocholate Mocholate is offline
nuttin
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney,Down Under
Posts: 2,358
i understand that , here too older folk use imperial. and in the transport industry we still make measurements in feet and yards but imperial tape measures aren't common
i've tried using it but yeah its hard to change
Reply With Quote
     
     
End
 
 
Reply

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Urban Art > Google Sketchup
Forum Jump


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 4:18 AM.

     

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.