HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > Middle East & Africa

Old Posted Jan 30, 2008, 4:44 AM

My corniche architecture project for Beirut

Hello everyone,

I am an architecture student from Iowa State University in the United States and our professor was born and raised in Beirut, so he knows the city well. Our site for the project is the Corniche from between the American University beach and the plaza where Rue Graham meets. The project is to study the corniche and design a promenade that factors in all the different social groups that use this area. I know they are currently updating the corniche with new railing, paving, etc, but our project will not take the current updates into account.

This is supposed to be a project where we take societal factors into consideration, such as the type of people that will use the site and how the design language expresses some social aspect of Beirut or Lebanon.

For the concept of my project, I studied the history of Beirut and how rule over the area has changed hands many times over the last 5,000 years, from the Greeks, Romans, Ottomans, etc. The key to this project is that it does not exclude anyone from using the corniche; that all income levels, ethnic groups, and nationalities feel welcome.

So I started thinking of how to represent these periods of turmoil and peace through form, and came up with a series of intersection spaces where people will come together and face each other as they pass through. The forms are deconstructed to represent these periods of turmoil. A book I was reading on Beirut talked about buildings that were bombed and how exposed "stairs that lead to nowhere" can be seen in these neighborhoods that were affected the most. I incorporated this idea into the design to represent this while also allowing discovery (see picture)...people may sit on the steps or climb them to see beyond toward the sea.