HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > Canada > Alberta & British Columbia > Vancouver > General Discussion

Old Posted Mar 18, 2010, 2:14 PM

Shoreline Walk Advice

I'm in Vancouver for a few days next week and this is my first time coming there, so I'm looking for some advice. What would you recommend as the best shore line walk in Vancouver? I want to see the water and the skyline while enjoying a nice walk. I'm staying in downtown Vancouver and I don't have plans to rent a car.

Old Posted Mar 18, 2010, 3:35 PM

Best place for that is along the seawall at Stanley Park

Old Posted Mar 18, 2010, 3:41 PM
Closed account

My favourite from Downtown has to be Stanley Park. Go down to the New Convention Centre where you can see the Olympic Flame and walk west along the new Seawall past Coal Harbour.

This will take you to the Rowing Club and Stanley Park. Follow the Seawall all the way around past Siwash Rock and head back towards the city along English Bay.

Great view of the city and the West side as you come around Ferguson Point after third beach on your way to the aquatic centre. From there grab a water bus across to Granville Island for a keek at the "Granville Island Market" and a java before the last leg around to Vanier Park and Kits Beach.

From Kits you can catch the Number 22 bus back across Burrard Bridge into Downtown.

It's a full day trip but well worth it. About 12 Km from Convention centre to Aquatic Center and another 3 km to Kits beach maybe. And if you are still not happy, you can continue along Jericho and Locarno Beaches all the way to Spanish Banks and the University of British Columbia. The Number 4 will take you back Downtown.

An alternative is to take the Number 250 Horseshoe Bay from Georgia Street Downtown all the way to Lighthouse Park on the North Shore. Ask the driver to tell you when to get off.