HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Discussion Forums > Engineering

Old Posted Jan 12, 2008, 10:00 PM

Exclamation University Design/Retrofit Project - HELP!

Hello Forums!

I come to you in search of help! For introductory purposes:
- I am not a structural engineer
- I am not an architect
- I am not an MEP engineer
- I am mechanical/industrial/automation engineering student

A 4th year Large Group Project has instructed myself, along with a bunch of other students of similar backgrounds, to conduct research regarding high-rise buildings, possible retro-fits, etc.

I am searching for free websites/archives/journals that would yield:
- Realistic Structural Representations of Average High-rises (75-500ft)
- Sectional Views
- Floor/Unit Layouts

Please bear in mind that after days of searching, i've output only pretty pictures of insane-looking residential high-rises. This is not what I require. I need a basic understanding of exactly what goes into building and designing an average high-rise.

Now, I do realize that this is something that i would consider changing professions for. However, our project revolves around an automated solution for a problem-area for tenants in a high-rise... can you guess?

Anyways, i basically need a "High-Rises for Dummies" book/page that would give me basic understanding of structural, mep, and other technical facets ASAP. I have not browsed these forums yet, but will soon. If i find something applicable i will redirect this post, or delete it.

Thanking you all in advance!

Project RHARIS

Old Posted Jan 12, 2008, 10:03 PM

Thanks for moving that, moderator.

Old Posted Jan 13, 2008, 4:06 PM
Senior Slacker

Hi RH,