HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum
     

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Diagrams & Database > Building Requests & Database Corrections > Completed Requests

Reply

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
     
     
  #1  
Old Posted Aug 19, 2018, 6:55 PM
Anders Franzén's Avatar
Anders Franzén Anders Franzén is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Swedish East Coast
Posts: 660
CORRECTIONS|4 blds in Shanghai

NANKAI EXECUTIVE BUILDING
http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=19287

Coordinates: 31.2131, 121.4793 (31.2111, 121.4838 in Google Maps)

(https://www.emporis.com/buildings/10...shanghai-china)


WUKUANG MANSION
http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=108748

Coordinates: 31.2412, 121.4542 (31.2392, 121.4587 in Google Maps)

(https://www.emporis.com/buildings/12...shanghai-china)


TONGJI SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY BUILDING
http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=34368

Coordinates: 31.2888, 121.4997 (31.2868, 121.5042 in Google Maps)

(https://www.emporis.com/buildings/12...shanghai-china)

Last edited by Anders Franzén; Aug 21, 2018 at 6:18 PM. Reason: Deleted the finished request for SML Center
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #2  
Old Posted Aug 21, 2018, 2:11 PM
LMich's Avatar
LMich LMich is offline
Midwest Moderator - Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Big Mitten
Posts: 31,444
These coordinates are all wrong; they are consistently wrong. Please do more proper research than reposting from Emporis.
__________________
Where the trees are the right height
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #3  
Old Posted Aug 21, 2018, 6:07 PM
Anders Franzén's Avatar
Anders Franzén Anders Franzén is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Swedish East Coast
Posts: 660
I did more proper research. The coordiantes is according to Wikimapia.org, when pinpointing the same location as in the Emporis.com entries.

It only looks wrong in Google Maps which seems to be off by -0.0020, +0.0045 degrees in the whole of China, when compared with Google Satellite or any other map services. I've noticed Emporis has changed from Google to OpenEmap.

I've updated the post with alternative coordinates; please choose the ones You believe are the right ones, but maybe one shouldn't care about coordinates in China?
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #4  
Old Posted Aug 21, 2018, 6:19 PM
LMich's Avatar
LMich LMich is offline
Midwest Moderator - Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Big Mitten
Posts: 31,444
These appear to be correct, now. But to be clear, you were the one requesting these changes be made. If you're not concerned about the coordinates, you do not have to request them. I simply ask that when you request a correction that the information is correct. Many of these coordinates were nowhere near the building or close enough that I could tell which building the coordinates where supposed to be located.
__________________
Where the trees are the right height
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #5  
Old Posted Aug 21, 2018, 6:57 PM
Anders Franzén's Avatar
Anders Franzén Anders Franzén is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Swedish East Coast
Posts: 660
Thank You, that was a quick and fair answer!

Yeah, the question was mostly for myself. I wouldn't be concerned but it's easier for illustrators like myself (who likes to illustrate "exotic" buildings rather than the ones at home) if the entry has info on the location.
Reply With Quote
     
     
End
 
 
Reply

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Diagrams & Database > Building Requests & Database Corrections > Completed Requests
Forum Jump


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 8:44 PM.

     

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.