HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum
     
Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Urban Art > Google Sketchup

Reply

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
     
     
  #361  
Old Posted Jan 20, 2013, 11:47 PM
Fabricio JF's Avatar
Fabricio JF Fabricio JF is offline
ad scientia
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vitória
Posts: 38
I use Sketchup to measure the height of buildings in 3D environment and I confess that it is very complex due to synchronization of axes red, green and blue with the 3D image. Is there another easy way? Thank you!
__________________
Visit my flickr albums:

Chicago
Miami
New York
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #362  
Old Posted Sep 2, 2013, 8:00 PM
Skydragon42 Skydragon42 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 222
Should I switch to sketch-up 2013, or keep using the older version 8?
I've herd some very bad reviews about the new version, so I'm hesitant about upgrading.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #363  
Old Posted Sep 7, 2013, 8:39 AM
gregSt gregSt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Europa
Posts: 42
If version 8 works for you then I would not recommend the upgrade, because I gave 2013 a try and have to say that the negative reviews are true. With 2013 you are forced to install a "Pro" test version, then you are forced to use it for 8 hours and can't skip it. Even after the evaluation period is over, every time you launch Sketchup a license screen pops up instead of the file. When using the orbit tool additional license error messages pop up. It gets really annoying. Sketchup 8 on the other hand works perfectly, with no errors or license crap. So I uninstalled 2013 and went back to 8!
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #364  
Old Posted Sep 7, 2013, 5:54 PM
Skydragon42 Skydragon42 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 222
Ok thank you, I'll be sure to keep a back-up of sketch-up 8 then.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #365  
Old Posted Sep 25, 2013, 12:25 AM
Jonboy1983's Avatar
Jonboy1983 Jonboy1983 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The absolute western-most point of the Philadelphia urbanized area. :)
Posts: 1,692
Ok, having more isues with Sketchup. No matter what I do, I cannot get these rectangles to close!!!



I'm trying to draw the segmented lines you'd typically find on a multi-lane street. I'm drawing my vision for Pittsburgh's Chateau/Manchester neighborhood, and this is my idea for the Beaver Ave. Expressway which will be converted to a large urban surface boulevard with on-street parking, a wide bike land, and a LRT extension going down the median...
__________________
Transportation planning, building better communities of tomorrow through superior connections between them today...
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #366  
Old Posted Sep 25, 2013, 3:29 AM
Jonboy1983's Avatar
Jonboy1983 Jonboy1983 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The absolute western-most point of the Philadelphia urbanized area. :)
Posts: 1,692
^^^ Disregard that. I found a solution.
__________________
Transportation planning, building better communities of tomorrow through superior connections between them today...
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #367  
Old Posted Nov 8, 2013, 7:16 PM
Skydragon42 Skydragon42 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 222
Ok so I had this strange problem with sketchup today.
When I was using the position camera tool (set at five foot six eye hight) part of the ground of my model disappeared I don't know why so here is a photo.
[/URL]
So yea I need to know how to fix it.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #368  
Old Posted Nov 9, 2013, 7:15 PM
Vellu's Avatar
Vellu Vellu is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: skyscraperless Finland
Posts: 776
I have the same problem when my model gets big in terms of dimensions. In your case this is probably due to the addition of that long river. This is some kind of bug in SketchUp. If you aren't using the newest version, then maybe you could try it.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #369  
Old Posted Nov 11, 2013, 3:29 AM
Skydragon42 Skydragon42 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 222
^^^^^
The problem with that is I've heard some very bad things about the new version, and am afraid that if I download it I will not be able to get the old one back.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #370  
Old Posted Dec 14, 2014, 7:12 PM
Skydragon42 Skydragon42 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 222
Ok, can anyone tell me how to make a bridge?
I've just tried, and it was terrible!
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #371  
Old Posted Sep 27, 2019, 4:51 PM
samjonas samjonas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 2
From video tips and formal learning tracks to wifi access guides to user forum, we're here to help.

Last edited by samjonas; Oct 15, 2019 at 2:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
     
     
End

Reply

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Urban Art > Google Sketchup
Forum Jump


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 3:58 AM.

     

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.