HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum
     

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Urban Art > Google Sketchup

About The Ads  This week the ad company used in the forum will be monitoring activity and doing some tests to identify any problems which users may be experiencing. If at any time this week you get pop-ups, redirects, etc. as a result of ads please let us know by sending an email to forum@skyscraperpage.com or post in the ads complaint thread. Thank you for your participation.


Reply

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
     
     
  #21  
Old Posted Sep 3, 2009, 9:23 AM
Mocholate's Avatar
Mocholate Mocholate is offline
nuttin
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney,Down Under
Posts: 2,358
This may explain better but it's not exactly what i do,

-Each scene has a line on it which is preset to line up with the central indicator.
Import Scene #1 and align with central indicator.

Activate Sun/Globals,disable lines etc. > Export to Kerk.
Erase scene #1. Enable lines, Disable Sun/Globals. Purge unused*

...import and align scene 2

Activate Sun/Globals,disable lines etc. > Export to Kerk.
Erase scene #2. Enable lines, Disable Sun/Globals. Purge unused*

...import and align scene #3

Activate Sun/Globals,disable lines etc. > Export to Kerk.




In Kerk they will appear like this (with your Sun/Globals settings)


* BEFORE YOU IMPORT A NEW SCENE YOU HAVE TO GET RID OF ALL TRACES OF THE PREVIOUS SCENE , Window > Model > Statistics then click 'Purge Unused'

Last edited by Mocholate; Sep 3, 2009 at 9:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #22  
Old Posted Sep 3, 2009, 9:45 AM
Mocholate's Avatar
Mocholate Mocholate is offline
nuttin
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney,Down Under
Posts: 2,358
...or you can figure out your own way to import and align the separate scenes without having to move the camera.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #23  
Old Posted Sep 5, 2009, 6:00 PM
Aleks's Avatar
Aleks Aleks is offline
cookies, skittles & milk
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,257
So I started a rendering the other day. Well, yesterday! At like 3 or 4 PM. This morning it was only to 83% antialiasing and I got tired of waiting so I just cancelled it. Why did it take so long? Renderings usually take like 2-4 hours max and this one took over 24! Wtf?!? And these white dots came up all over shiny surfaces!

Original


Edited


Also, what's up with Kerky? I read they were making a new rendering system called Thea and that they were gonna charge for it... wtf?
__________________
...the greatness of victor is equally proportionate to the skill and obduracy of foe...
-Kostof-
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #24  
Old Posted Sep 6, 2009, 1:13 AM
Krases's Avatar
Krases Krases is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleks View Post
So I started a rendering the other day. Well, yesterday! At like 3 or 4 PM. This morning it was only to 83% antialiasing and I got tired of waiting so I just cancelled it. Why did it take so long? Renderings usually take like 2-4 hours max and this one took over 24! Wtf?!? And these white dots came up all over shiny surfaces!


Also, what's up with Kerky? I read they were making a new rendering system called Thea and that they were gonna charge for it... wtf?
I have no idea. What is the filesize of that model? If its huge, then that might explain it a little bit.

Sounds like they are just dropping the "Kerky" in the name lol.
__________________
There are many things money can buy. But one thing money can't buy is your momma, she's for free and everyone knows it.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #25  
Old Posted Sep 6, 2009, 1:59 AM
Mocholate's Avatar
Mocholate Mocholate is offline
nuttin
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney,Down Under
Posts: 2,358
Aleks try using 'Metropolis light transport' for your render setting and give it around 100 passes

I hope you saved the scene ! It's looking pretty hot but i don't know if i like the orange in the middle.
I like how the kitchen is tiny yet has 2 areas - an open server type section + concealed area behind that center piece also helps make use of all the spaces around it.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #26  
Old Posted Sep 6, 2009, 4:41 PM
Krases's Avatar
Krases Krases is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,226
Were do you guys get your textures from?

I am looking at CGtextures, but when I tried to register they had a kinda crazy registration policy.

Apparently you cannot even put there material in a scrapbook. lol
__________________
There are many things money can buy. But one thing money can't buy is your momma, she's for free and everyone knows it.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #27  
Old Posted Sep 9, 2009, 12:03 AM
Aleks's Avatar
Aleks Aleks is offline
cookies, skittles & milk
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mocholate View Post
Aleks try using 'Metropolis light transport' for your render setting and give it around 100 passes

I hope you saved the scene ! It's looking pretty hot but i don't know if i like the orange in the middle.
I like how the kitchen is tiny yet has 2 areas - an open server type section + concealed area behind that center piece also helps make use of all the spaces around it.
Oh I forgot about that! Duh! [Please explain how and what you mean because I am totally lost]!
__________________
...the greatness of victor is equally proportionate to the skill and obduracy of foe...
-Kostof-
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #28  
Old Posted Sep 9, 2009, 2:11 AM
Duffstuff129's Avatar
Duffstuff129 Duffstuff129 is offline
Charismatic Stallion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 576
That's a very complex scene, Aleks, which is why it took so long.

As the scene complexity increases renders take longer because there are more surfaces to calculate.

Also I assume you are using Ray Tracing or Photon Map or another single pass rendering method. Because this method only sends out a finite number of "photons" or "rays" and there are so many surfaces, mathematically, chances are that one of those hundreds of thousands of surfaces will be missed by the relatively few paths, resulting in missed spots in the render, manifested as white dots.

This is why a multi-pass rendering method (metropolis light transport, preset 20 or 21, I think) is so important. It essentially keeps passing over the same image, and by those mathematical odds (again) by 100 passes all of the surfaces would have been hit and the white spots will be filled in.

And that's it.

tl;dr: Use MLT.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #29  
Old Posted Sep 9, 2009, 2:50 AM
Aleks's Avatar
Aleks Aleks is offline
cookies, skittles & milk
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,257
Damn Duffster! Thanks. And how do you do that? I can't tell whether your last sentence was the way of switching MLT on or what. I'm kinda retarded at this stuff.
__________________
...the greatness of victor is equally proportionate to the skill and obduracy of foe...
-Kostof-
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #30  
Old Posted Sep 9, 2009, 3:04 AM
Duffstuff129's Avatar
Duffstuff129 Duffstuff129 is offline
Charismatic Stallion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleks View Post
Damn Duffster! Thanks. And how do you do that? I can't tell whether your last sentence was the way of switching MLT on or what. I'm kinda retarded at this stuff.
When you press "Start Render" and all of the options come up (Raytracing, etc.) scroll down to #20. One you try, you'll see. The rendering methods are numbered.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #31  
Old Posted Sep 9, 2009, 3:08 AM
Aleks's Avatar
Aleks Aleks is offline
cookies, skittles & milk
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,257
Weirddd! I did that the other day but I wasn't sure why it looked all grainy so I stopped the rendering and just started another scene.

But now it says it's out of 10,000. How do I make less passes?

EDIT: Wait, to set the passes all I do is set the Photons to 100?
__________________
...the greatness of victor is equally proportionate to the skill and obduracy of foe...
-Kostof-
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #32  
Old Posted Sep 9, 2009, 7:16 AM
toyota74 toyota74 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,739
i know when i do that method the image
goes to picasa3 (pic album/editor)and it keeps updating
after every pass and i quit keky so the image stays
in picasa with however many pass's i have before
i quit....plus when its in picasa you can do basic
tweaks to the image and its free....
__________________
Photography Facebook page
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #33  
Old Posted Sep 9, 2009, 8:07 PM
treras93's Avatar
treras93 treras93 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleks View Post
But now it says it's out of 10,000. How do I make less passes?
all you have to do is hit the "stop render immediately" button whenever you feel it is clear enough
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #34  
Old Posted Sep 9, 2009, 9:23 PM
Duffstuff129's Avatar
Duffstuff129 Duffstuff129 is offline
Charismatic Stallion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 576
Aleks! Don't change the number I photons! Like treras said, just stop it when you feel the image is rendered sufficently.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #35  
Old Posted Sep 10, 2009, 3:42 AM
Krases's Avatar
Krases Krases is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,226
Is there some way one can blow up the preview image to see that it is rendering well?
__________________
There are many things money can buy. But one thing money can't buy is your momma, she's for free and everyone knows it.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #36  
Old Posted Sep 10, 2009, 1:09 PM
Mocholate's Avatar
Mocholate Mocholate is offline
nuttin
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney,Down Under
Posts: 2,358
before or after you click this icon ?

Reply With Quote
     
     
  #37  
Old Posted Sep 11, 2009, 4:51 AM
Krases's Avatar
Krases Krases is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mocholate View Post
before or after you click this icon ?

I didn't realize I could click it during the rendering process.
__________________
There are many things money can buy. But one thing money can't buy is your momma, she's for free and everyone knows it.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #38  
Old Posted Sep 11, 2009, 7:31 AM
Mocholate's Avatar
Mocholate Mocholate is offline
nuttin
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney,Down Under
Posts: 2,358
Kerk is like that
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #39  
Old Posted Sep 16, 2009, 3:56 AM
Rizzo Rizzo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,898
So I got a question.

The company I work for does a heck of a lot of sketchup and 3ds max. Typically we dump our sketchup models into max and have our expert renderer make them look nice.....but only for the final work. since this guy is overloaded and I'm terrible at max renderings I've started using kerkythea to render stuff in development.

I really only have one question at this moment......glass, how do you all get it right. I've downloaded the glass libraries on their site, but they don't look as nice rendered as what I see in some of the threads here. What are the steps you take to get it right? My last project came out okay, but nothing like the glass I see here on ssp.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #40  
Old Posted Sep 18, 2009, 1:37 AM
Duffstuff129's Avatar
Duffstuff129 Duffstuff129 is offline
Charismatic Stallion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 576
I could've sworn I posted a comment on this already, Hayward. (If I did and it got removed would a mod please tell me why?)

But my best recommendation would be to ask on Kerkythea.net. The actual developers of the software will answer your questions.

Just tell the the exact appearance you want and they will be able to tell you (the instructions may be complicated, but that's the price of beauty )

Have fun.
Reply With Quote
     
     
This discussion thread continues

Use the page links to the lower-right to go to the next page for additional posts
 
 
Reply

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Urban Art > Google Sketchup
Forum Jump


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 7:17 AM.

     

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.