HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > Canada > Manitoba & Saskatchewan

Old Posted Apr 21, 2014, 6:59 PM
Dérive-r

Moving to Winnipeg - Any Tips?

Hi Winnipeggers,

I'm moving to your great city for school in September (probably moving the last half of August), and was hoping for a little insight from you urban types.

First, a few things about me that might be worth knowing...

I've never been to Winnipeg. The closest I've been is Edmonton and Calgary in the west and Toronto in the east (all of which were 10+ years ago). I'm moving for the Master of City Planning program at UofM. I finished my undergrad degree at UBC 5 years ago and despite getting a BA Geography I've worked as a graphic designer since then. I won't have a car. I've never experienced winter outside of BC.

Despite knowing little about Winnipeg at this point I'm really looking forward to the adventure of it all - I've been lucky to do a good amount of international travel but I've never lived anywhere outside of Metro Vancouver. I've done some Winnipeg research but talking to some locals would be a big help.

So with that said, these are a few things I'd love your thoughts on...

1) Interesting urban/walkable neighbourhoods that would be good for a student to rent in, preferably close to or with easy transit access to downtown and UofM.
2) The reputation of UofM and their City Planning program in particular.
3) Any must do/see things when I first arrive to get the lay of the land or feel of the city.
4) Any words of encouragement/tips regarding the climate/winter.
5) Any unique cultural aspects of Winnipeg that would be good to have a heads up on to save me any embarrassment or confusion.

I'm sure more will come to me but that seems like plenty to start with.

I'm pretty gung-ho about learning as much as I can and integrating myself as much as possible. I'm seriously considering staying put in