HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > Canada > Atlantic Provinces > Halifax > Urban, Urban Design & Heritage Issues

Old Posted Nov 21, 2009, 5:46 AM
Honored Member

Rate Halifax Buildings

I am interested in knowing how others on this forum would rate these Halifax buildings. This isn’t a comprehensive list and maybe there are ones that others would like to add. I am not an expert in architectural; this is purely personal taste. There are some buildings in Halifax that I hear negative statements about in the media which I actually like (example the Maritime Centre). I am simply interested in knowing if my taste in Halifax architecture is that much different than others.

I have listed a number of buildings with a rating of 10 (highest rating) to 1 (most disliked):

Building Rating (10 - Best, 1 - worst) Comment (if any)

Fenwick Tower 5 Tallest in Halifax but too much concrete
New Fenwick Proposal 8 Hoping it will be a 10
Purdy’s Wharf Tower II 10 I like this entire complex
1801 Hollis Street 10 My favorite Halifax building
Barrington Tower 6 Not too bad
Cogswell Tower 2 Uninteresting
Maritime Centre 8 Would be a 10 except for the colour mismatch
TD Tower 3 Proportions seem to be off
CIBC 1 Dislike it completely (too much red brick)
Bank of Montreal Tower 7 Interesting
St Mary”s Basilica 10 Historic and impressive
City Hall 10 Historic and interesting

Old Posted Nov 21, 2009, 4:03 PM

Fenwick Tower 3 A place in our architectural history
New Fenwick Proposal 8 A look to the future
Purdy’s Wharf Tower II 7 A good bit of local architecture using local ideas and inspirations
1801 Hollis Street 8 Classic
Barrington Tower 1 Crap
Cogswell Tower 2 Slightly less than crap
Maritime Centre 7 Big, monolithic, but I love it.
TD Tower 6 Could have been better had it been built to its original specs
CIBC 5 Kinda boring, but not too bad
Bank of Montreal Tower 6 Good vertical elements