HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Discussion Forums > Buildings & Architecture

Old Posted Sep 19, 2010, 8:17 PM

Bidding process / Architectural Design

Hello,

I am interested in learning more about the bidding process in architecture. I understand many developers start by reaching out to a number of architectural firms, and whichever provides the best solution wins, correct?

1)
Now what type of material is submitted by the architects in this initial phase of the project? I am sure they do not send a full book of floor drawings, but probably more general info such as renderings etc.. correct?

2)
Let's say I am an architect, and I'd like to be considered for the city's new big project. Am I allowed to pitch my design, or is the bidding mostly restricted to a select few?

3)
What kind of guidelines do the developers provide to the architects? Square footage, height...what else do they have to work with?

Thanks.

Old Posted Sep 19, 2010, 10:51 PM

Sometimes the future client sends out a public Request for Proposal or Request for Qualifications (Quals) to which either the architecture firm will put together a presentation document of floorplan concepts, renderings, cost breakdowns, project timelines, prospective contractors or subs, and a company organizational chart (if requested). RFQ's are much easier because it's basically your company's portfolio of work and past experience, who you have on staff, and certifications you have, etc.

This is a VERY general description, hope it helps.

Old Posted Sep 20, 2010, 12:37 AM
Never Dell

Developers often hire the people they had on the last job. They often have competitions too.