HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum
     

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Diagrams & Database > Diagrams

Reply

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
     
     
  #1  
Old Posted Aug 6, 2013, 10:33 AM
Sasha Nevsky Sasha Nevsky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 20
Help needed

Hello everyone I made the diagram of Eurasia Tower in Moscow, but I have some probs with rescaling:
I made this diagram in high dimentions, but after rescaling it turned out in piece of sh*t

Before


After


PS I use Adobe Photoshop
PPS Rescaled diagram is 34% of original drawing. Don't even ask me, why I was stupid lol
Thanks for attention
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #2  
Old Posted Aug 6, 2013, 11:19 AM
Anders Franzén's Avatar
Anders Franzén Anders Franzén is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Swedish East Coast
Posts: 660
Looks Good to me, and I also usually get disappointed when I'm rescaling (I also use Photoshop).
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #3  
Old Posted Aug 6, 2013, 1:38 PM
Tony's Avatar
Tony Tony is offline
Super Moderator / Sr. Committee
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 5,990
Hi, that's a nice diagram.

When posting "full-size" drawings, you may want to watermark them so people on the internet don't steal them.

In terms of resizing, you may want to run a sharpen filter over the diagram, play with the different levels of sharpening until you get something you like. I always need to do this.

When doing full sized drawings, it helps a bit to make sure you draw at a scale like 1:2, 1:4. So when you resize down, the computer / software can round off pixels evenly.
__________________
Hunan, China 1 | Hunan, China 2 | Hong Kong | NYC 2 | NYC 1 | Florence | Venice | Rome | London | Paris


Flickr®
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #4  
Old Posted Aug 6, 2013, 6:26 PM
Sasha Nevsky Sasha Nevsky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 20
Thank you for your replies I didn't expect anyone will do it lol
Oh, ok, next time I'll do so, thanks for advice
I really don't know why, but I started drawing it in wrong scale, but it was too late, when I understood it
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #5  
Old Posted Aug 6, 2013, 6:55 PM
vid's Avatar
vid vid is offline
Identity Condiment
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 38,699
Try using the sharpen feature, don't overdo it though. It can make it look a little bit better.
__________________
Toronto & HamiltonThunder Bayother photos | my geofiction | random things | skyscraper diagrams
It's not about what you don't have—it's the little you're given, and how far you can run with it.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #6  
Old Posted Aug 7, 2013, 12:42 AM
Dylan Leblanc's Avatar
Dylan Leblanc Dylan Leblanc is offline
Website Manager
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 8,352
Sometimes resizing a larger drawing can be tricky. Here are a few tricks to make it go better

- Blur the full size drawing first (in Photoshop I used Filter > Blur > Blur More ) - this will eliminate or at least reduce the banding effect seen on your resized drawing (some floors are darker than others)

- Then resize (in Photoshop I used the Bicubic Sharper option)

- Then a very minor sharpen (in Photoshop I used Filter > Sharper > Smart Sharpen and used the default values, amount 50%, radius 1 px)



My version is on the right. The initial blur gives the greatest improvement of all the steps.
Reply With Quote
     
     
End
 
 
Reply

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Diagrams & Database > Diagrams
Forum Jump


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 9:11 PM.

     

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.