HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > United States > Texas & Southcentral

Old Posted Apr 29, 2009, 12:26 AM
Funkytown's finest

New skyscraper ideas for Fort Worth...

I'm an architect major and a Fort Worth native. I love buildings and I love my city.... and HATE the skyline.

I'm just throwing out ideas for new skyscrapers for the city.

Feel free to hate them, but just know that these are just sketch models.

Old Posted Apr 29, 2009, 12:27 AM
Funkytown's finest

XTO HQ.......

This is my model of the former planned 50 story XTO Tower that was going to replace the Landmark Tower.

Now before you start pointing out the flaws in this building remember, this is just a SKETCH model. this isn't up to scale and this isn't exactly what I want it to look like, but it is the main idea.

Here's the building...

... looking up at it from street level...

East to west elevation

North to South elevation

And here's a height comparison of the XTO with the curent tallest building in Fort Worth.

And here's my inspiration for this tower, the Bank of America Center in Houston

Old Posted Apr 29, 2009, 6:01 AM
Meh

Overall, I like it, but I think the spires are a little overdone. I like the color and facade and setback design.

Thou shall not indict

Old Posted Apr 29, 2009, 6:53 AM
Funkytown's finest

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinFromTexas View Post
Overall, I like it, but I think the spires are a little overdone. I like the color and facade and setback design.
Thanx.
Downtown Fort Worth is known for it's older architecture, and I wanted to reflect that by making it in an art deco style.

The facade is supposed to be pink granite. And the silver part is metal.

Old Posted Apr 29, 2009, 3:48 PM

Might I suggest that it is too monolithic at ground level? I wanna see retail on there and a human-scaled facade on the lower levels.

/urbanist-rant

Old Posted Apr 29, 2009, 6:13 PM
Squint Like Clint