HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum
     

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Diagrams & Database > Diagrams

Reply

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
     
     
  #1  
Old Posted Dec 29, 2017, 7:50 PM
Highriser_P_28 Highriser_P_28 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 148
Question about building complexes

There's something puzzling me: shouldn't the following building complexes have a single entry for them instead of two, since they share a significantly tall common base (when compared with the height of the building itself)?

JR Central Station (http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=714, http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=715)

Youth Olympics Center (http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=27522, http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=44426)

1 Shoreline Plaza (http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=3770, http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=3929

Lamar Towers (http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=61152, http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=61153)

The Headquarters Business Park (http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=98706, http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=98707)
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #2  
Old Posted Dec 29, 2017, 9:14 PM
spidey7312's Avatar
spidey7312 spidey7312 is offline
Pro Web Slinger
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 280
I would argue that those are all separate buildings, except for the last complex. But that's just my opinion.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #3  
Old Posted Dec 30, 2017, 3:30 PM
koops65's Avatar
koops65 koops65 is offline
Intergalactic Barfly
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Quarks Bar
Posts: 4,580
I think every complex is a unique case, and the editors, along with the illustrator, can decide if or how to break it up into separate components.

I believe a big part of it has to do with the part of the world the building is from. Hong Kong seems to be able to have multiple towers on a single base, while Toronto doesn't do that, unless the towers are joined together higher up above the podium, such as a sky-bridge.
__________________
My Diagram: http://skyscraperpage.com/diagrams/?searchID=52344624
A proud member of the former Airborne Regiment, 87-88
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #4  
Old Posted Dec 30, 2017, 5:07 PM
Highriser_P_28 Highriser_P_28 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by koops65 View Post
I think every complex is a unique case, and the editors, along with the illustrator, can decide if or how to break it up into separate components.
However, in my opinion, if there is more than one entry for the same complex, the buildings should be drawn separately. For example, those buildings in Nanjing that I cited above, it's weird to see the smaller tower appearing twice in the city diagram.

Another thing: for some weird reason, the smaller (hotel) tower in that Nagoya complex, even having been already drawn (http://skyscraperpage.com/diagrams/?buildingID=714), doesn't have the drawing as primary, making it one of the tallest undrawn completed buildings in the database.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #5  
Old Posted Dec 30, 2017, 7:32 PM
koops65's Avatar
koops65 koops65 is offline
Intergalactic Barfly
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Quarks Bar
Posts: 4,580
I agree that 2 towers (or more) from 1 base should be broken into multiple entries. Another entry that breaks this "rule" is: http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=4013
Because both drawings appear in the primary, the second tower has no drawing...
__________________
My Diagram: http://skyscraperpage.com/diagrams/?searchID=52344624
A proud member of the former Airborne Regiment, 87-88
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #6  
Old Posted Dec 30, 2017, 9:17 PM
Highriser_P_28 Highriser_P_28 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by koops65 View Post
I agree that 2 towers (or more) from 1 base should be broken into multiple entries. Another entry that breaks this "rule" is: http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=4013
Because both drawings appear in the primary, the second tower has no drawing...
Yeah, it's annoying that when there is more than one entry, the illustrator puts two (or more) buildings in a single drawing.

However, I still say that if there is a base that is significantly tall connecting two or more structures, and that is significantly tall (I would guess around 1/4) when compared with the total height of the buildings; then those should have a single entry in the database.

P.S: I have found a case of the opposite problem; completely separate parts of a complex that have a single entry for them.
For example: http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=12730, where there is no visible connection between the two parts.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #7  
Old Posted Dec 31, 2017, 12:29 AM
spidey7312's Avatar
spidey7312 spidey7312 is offline
Pro Web Slinger
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highriser_P_28 View Post
P.S: I have found a case of the opposite problem; completely separate parts of a complex that have a single entry for them.
For example: http://skyscraperpage.com/cities/?buildingID=12730, where there is no visible connection between the two parts.
A number of building complexes in Asian cities (particularly Hong Kong) are included in the database as a single building. This is supposed to reduce the amount of building entries that have to be made, but I personally find it a little annoying.
Reply With Quote
     
     
End
 
 
Reply

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Diagrams & Database > Diagrams
Forum Jump


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 9:18 PM.

     

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.