HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForumSkyscraper Posters
     

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Urban Art > Skyscraper & Urban Art

Reply

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
     
     
  #1  
Old Posted May 5, 2007, 12:07 AM
Imperar's Avatar
Imperar Imperar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 359
SC3K Dubai

Part of my Simcity 3000 Projects for 2007 will be to build Dubai, I made a start by making the Burj Dubai in BAT:





Sadly, it never turns out how you want it to look in the game. What's worse is that it's suppose to be 3 times higher than it appears (curse the BAT height limit). That means I have to design every other building from scratch to suit the scale.

Any suggestions would be very helpful.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #2  
Old Posted May 5, 2007, 1:39 PM
Imperar's Avatar
Imperar Imperar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 359
Update: Improved cladding details









Just finished the plaza, time to do the Burj Al Arab

Last edited by Imperar; May 5, 2007 at 5:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #3  
Old Posted May 5, 2007, 6:05 PM
Derek's Avatar
Derek Derek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,250
Nice start
__________________
Portlandia
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #4  
Old Posted May 6, 2007, 11:39 AM
Imperar's Avatar
Imperar Imperar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 359
Thanks

I'm thinking of re-doing the Burj Dubai using SC3URK in order to remove the height limit in BAT, also it maybe more helpful getting the geometry correct as well (with all those curves). The problem at the moment is getting hands of the Rendering Kit.

If not, I'll be designing and replacing every single build in the game to fit the scale using BAT (unfortunately roads, sims, trees, and other structures that cannot be edited will have to remain the same).

The city itself won't be confined to one map alone, so I will have to build the Palm Islands seperately, with several extensions to Dubai on numerous maps. I will design the map as accurately as I can as well. Hopefully I can get a fairly decent depiction of a completed Dubai before the real Dubai is completed.

Reason why I'm doing it in SC3 rather than 4, because it's more playable for me.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #5  
Old Posted May 6, 2007, 2:37 PM
Imperar's Avatar
Imperar Imperar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 359
Updates:

It was very difficult getting the Burj Al Arab to look right using BAT so...

With a little testing, I've come up with a way to import google sketchup models into SC3K's BAT, by the use of props, a bit of mspaint, and adobe photoshop.

Results:



For some reason, it's cut off the antenna.

Edit: Fixed the antenna thing



Work on the plaza commences... enjoy

Last edited by Imperar; May 6, 2007 at 2:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #6  
Old Posted May 6, 2007, 6:28 PM
theWatusi's Avatar
theWatusi theWatusi is offline
Resident Jackass
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Your Mom's House
Posts: 11,717
nice work
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #7  
Old Posted May 7, 2007, 9:52 AM
Imperar's Avatar
Imperar Imperar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 359
Why cheers

I will be trying to develop this over the summer when I finish uni, alonsgide this I have an overwhelming number of SC3K projects I initiated that I don't plan to finish until the next 5-10 YEARS. o.O (In other words, a VERY long time, only spent as the filler void of what I define as, "spare" time)

Feedback, suggestions? Group project participation to accelerate this up? Would be quite helpful...dang... I ought to finish those old cities...

Last edited by Imperar; May 7, 2007 at 8:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #8  
Old Posted May 7, 2007, 7:40 PM
Imperar's Avatar
Imperar Imperar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 359
Here's a small taster:

Reply With Quote
     
     
  #9  
Old Posted May 8, 2007, 6:08 PM
Bergenser's Avatar
Bergenser Bergenser is offline
Information Age
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,890
Hey that's a really nice start!
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #10  
Old Posted Oct 21, 2007, 10:51 PM
Imperar's Avatar
Imperar Imperar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 359
Slowly progressing......









bah.... I really ought to get cracking
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #11  
Old Posted Sep 20, 2008, 1:33 PM
dunbrine47 dunbrine47 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 17
You're good at putting the 21st century in this game.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #12  
Old Posted Sep 25, 2008, 5:56 PM
LSyd's Avatar
LSyd LSyd is offline
Red October standing by
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Columbia/Sumter, SC
Posts: 16,766
awesome.

-
__________________
"The vapors! The fainting couch! Those heartless elitists are burning down the plantation with their logic and arithmetic!"

-fflint
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #13  
Old Posted Nov 15, 2014, 12:29 AM
PA Castaway PA Castaway is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 12
Hopefully I'm not calling out to a dead thread, but I recently dusted off my SC3K and would love to know if anyone still has the Unlimited Rendering Kit or this amazing rendering of the Burj Khalifa. I can't find one anywhere on google.
Reply With Quote
     
     
End
 
 
Reply

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Urban Art > Skyscraper & Urban Art
Forum Jump


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 2:08 PM.

     

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.