HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > Canada > Manitoba & Saskatchewan

Old Posted Mar 7, 2007, 6:16 PM

Winnipeg City Transit/Rapid Transit

Hello everyone!

Newbie here!

I happened to stumble across this site and have to say I enjoy reading the threads on this forum.

Born and raised in Winnipeg! I have to say I've always enjoyed living here however at times I feel frustrated with this city knowing that it can become so much more then what it already is. There have been many changes over the years that have shown progress however one that has been lacking many years now and still is to this very day is our city transportation.

I am frankly fed up with the way this city has been dealing with this "Major" issue. I've been a frequent rider now for almost 2 years and cannot believe how horrible are transit system is.

I researched our past history on transportation and can't believe what we use to have. Looked at pictures of what it once was and have to say it looked friggin cool! What has happened to this city? I know there's priorities that the city and province need to deal with first (ex: roads, bridges, community centers, etc.) however we cannot forget how important transportation is to a city.

There have been talks for many years now regarding how we'll be able to implement Rapid Transit and what will work and what will not. We've spent a lot of time and money on this and where have we gotten with it???

If this city wants to promote a new image for itself and truly help global warming environment issues (as it's now become a great concern globally) we need to start making some noise people.........