HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForumSkyscraper Posters
     

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > Canada

Reply

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
     
     
  #61  
Old Posted Aug 1, 2014, 3:35 PM
haljackey's Avatar
haljackey haljackey is offline
User Registered
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 2,293
I should really post here more often.

Some highway work
























__________________
My Twitter

My Simcity Stuff
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #62  
Old Posted Aug 3, 2014, 8:34 PM
Dwils01's Avatar
Dwils01 Dwils01 is offline
Urban Fanactic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey
Posts: 3,055
Your highway networks are always amazing.

I don't know how you get so much traffic on your roads. I could have a region of over 3 million people and my roads and highways barely have any traffic on them.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #63  
Old Posted Aug 13, 2014, 2:40 AM
Dwils01's Avatar
Dwils01 Dwils01 is offline
Urban Fanactic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey
Posts: 3,055
Here is another small city surrounded by farmland called Aberdeen with a population of 43,955.






Reply With Quote
     
     
  #64  
Old Posted Aug 21, 2014, 2:53 AM
Dwils01's Avatar
Dwils01 Dwils01 is offline
Urban Fanactic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey
Posts: 3,055
Here is some pictures of a small town called Tarbutt Township with a population of 5,475.






Reply With Quote
     
     
  #65  
Old Posted Sep 3, 2014, 2:54 AM
Dwils01's Avatar
Dwils01 Dwils01 is offline
Urban Fanactic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey
Posts: 3,055
Last of the small towns and cities for a while. The next place I'm working on will have a population of around 200,000.

Downtown Leebroke.


Town of Leebroke with a population of 8,400.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #66  
Old Posted Sep 8, 2014, 8:02 PM
Dwils01's Avatar
Dwils01 Dwils01 is offline
Urban Fanactic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey
Posts: 3,055
Here is the city of Echo Bay with a population of 186,000.
Four Points mall near Highway 638 in the north area of Echo Bay.


Shopping Centre in the northwest area of Echo Bay.


Shopping Centre in the northeast end of the city.


Echo Bay Municipal Airport and Agricultural Fairgrounds.


Echo Bay College with the Howard R, Lash Sports Complex.


Algoma University Echo Bay Campus with the cities tallest building.


Echo Bay Golf and Country Club.


Beaumont Park in downtown Echo Bay.


Echo Bay Marina.


Echo Bay North Commuter Train Station in the northeast area of Echo Bay.


Rail yard and commuter train station in the south end of the city of Echo Bay.


Echo Bay's tallest office building and showing huge parking lots for Echo Bay Central Station.


Downtown Echo Bay.




A few overviews of the city.




Reply With Quote
     
     
  #67  
Old Posted Sep 9, 2014, 3:09 AM
Dwils01's Avatar
Dwils01 Dwils01 is offline
Urban Fanactic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey
Posts: 3,055
The town of Hughson is located 18km northeast of the big city and is home to 9,875 people.










Leeburn is located next to Hughson and is located 15km northeast of the big city. It's home to 25,866 people.








Reply With Quote
     
     
  #68  
Old Posted Sep 14, 2014, 8:13 PM
haljackey's Avatar
haljackey haljackey is offline
User Registered
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 2,293
I made this today:



Mosaic of the whole junction:

__________________
My Twitter

My Simcity Stuff
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #69  
Old Posted Oct 10, 2014, 1:57 AM
Dwils01's Avatar
Dwils01 Dwils01 is offline
Urban Fanactic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey
Posts: 3,055
Your highway networks are amazing Haljackey.

Finally had some time to play Sim City.
I got four medium tiles done that are part of the City of Garden River.
An overview of the north part of the city of Garden River.




An overview of the west part of the city of Garden River.


Reply With Quote
     
     
  #70  
Old Posted Oct 10, 2014, 1:56 PM
TownGuy's Avatar
TownGuy TownGuy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cobourg, ON
Posts: 994
Dwils your cities look incredibly realistic.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #71  
Old Posted Oct 11, 2014, 3:06 AM
Dwils01's Avatar
Dwils01 Dwils01 is offline
Urban Fanactic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey
Posts: 3,055
Thanks, I try to make them as realistic as possible. All the mods for the game really help with that.
I still have to do some fine tuning of the cities to give the a more realistic feel.
Most of these cities I'm making are suburbs of a bigger city in the region. I only build high density buildings at transit stations in the city so that transit is well used in the suburbs.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #72  
Old Posted Oct 16, 2014, 5:06 AM
vegeta_skyline's Avatar
vegeta_skyline vegeta_skyline is offline
Registered User, Maybe
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwils01 View Post
I like how natural/realistic looking your suburban & farming regions look. I've been working on a high density region for a long time so my suburban areas are quite small in them, which is unrealistic from a North American perspective. If there's one thing that could perhaps make my cities look more realistic its expanding the suburban area. I've removed some hilly areas but I'm hesitant to do all the terraforming, basically cleaving mountains in half, that would be required for a large expansion.

And if there's one thing that I never really had an interest in, it was creating agricultural regions. Probably because the game was so limited with their appearance when it first came out, after that I never really gained an interest in them. You could say they're banned in my cities along with space consuming golf courses
But with all these mods that people have come out with subsequently I must say when done right, as yours are, they certainly are quite picturesque.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwils01 View Post
Beaumont Park in downtown Echo Bay.


Echo Bay Marina.
Beautiful park and Marina

Quote:
A few overviews of the city.
Another thing I like is how your highrises are spread out in this city. I've taken a core density approach with pretty much all the major cities in my main region so far, but that's something I've been meaning to try out for a city or two.

Last edited by vegeta_skyline; Oct 16, 2014 at 11:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #73  
Old Posted Oct 16, 2014, 9:47 AM
vegeta_skyline's Avatar
vegeta_skyline vegeta_skyline is offline
Registered User, Maybe
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,232
I had to stop playing SC4 a while back as I got a little too detail-obsessive and it was no longer fun. But this thread has inspired me to start playing again, so thanks everyone!

Here's the region I've been working on(and off) for the last few years, Pretoria;

originally named it Verloren, which is kind of a weird name for a city/region so I changed it to Pretoria. It's about 2/3rds filled now with a population goal of about 2.5 million.

Here's the transportation map with the major highways numbered and the commuter rail lines in yellow;


I decided to take a different approach with this region. Pre-planing all the major transportation routes, both road & rail in advance. Quite the change from the "build it as you go" approach I used when I first started playing SC4. Also noted is the location of major utilities such as power plants as well as water filtration and sewage treatment plants. The plan has subsequently had several revisions as seen in the following gif;


I not only separate freight and passenger rail lines, but there are two competing freight companies. The commuter rail service, called Fastraxx, operates 4 lines with two more I've yet to finish plus an airport express service(for the airport which doesn't exist yet ). The two competing railways are the ICR(Intercontinental Railway) & the GWR(Great Western Railway). The ICR is the larger of the two though the GWR has a greater presence on the west coast where Pretoria is located.


This gif shows the development of the region over time. As well as the random transmutation of rocks the region has suffered from over the years...



And here's an overview of some of the larger cities;

Cantic pop. 387,000 noted for the majestic Cisco Bay Bridge, a massive carter impact site, large steel smelter, rail yard, harbor, cement plant, soccer stadium, telecommunications tower, chronic unemployment and lastly... its constantly expanding shit plant, I kid you not.
Major Interchanges; 700-702-707 and 700-705 and 705-707
Tallest Building; AIC Plaza 675ft(205.7m)
Tallest Structure; telecommunication tower(naming rights for sale) 1,219ft(371.5m)


Dresden pop. 88,900 noted for its mountainous terrain, large harbor & a massive power plant.
Major Interchanges; 700-702
Tallest Building; The Euro Center 432ft(131.6m) 36 floors
Tallest Structure; Dresden GS stack 660ft(201m)


Cisco Bay pop. 27,100 noted for its cable stayed bridge, once the longest in the world of its kind.
Major Interchanges; 702-709
Tallest Structure; Great Western Tower 559ft(170m)


Lindin City pop. 29,400 noted for its historic downtown & large central park.
Major Interchanges; 702-707 and 705-709
Tallest Building; Mary Arms Hotel 281ft(85.6m) 19 floors


Baycole pop. 11,300 noted for its large refinery.
Major Interchanges; none
Tallest Structure; Corner Creek Refinery, Primary Stack 496ft(151m)



I like how haljackey made those extended/mosaic pictures. So I made a couple of my own from the city of Cisco Bay;



OK that's probably enough of an introduction for now

Last edited by vegeta_skyline; Oct 16, 2014 at 11:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #74  
Old Posted Oct 17, 2014, 3:19 AM
Dwils01's Avatar
Dwils01 Dwils01 is offline
Urban Fanactic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey
Posts: 3,055
Thanks for the kind words Vegeta. I try to make cities look as realistic as possible but sometimes I like to have a little fun plopping buildings down to make big looking downtowns. If I had a little more patience I could probably make them look a lot more realistic. If you look at some of the city journals on Simtropolis you can get some good inspiration for making cities.

Your region looks very nice and you have put a lot of detail into your cities, they even look more realistic than mine. I also like that you have some custom content in you city because I find vanilla Sim City 4 to be boring. I look forward to seeing more of the region.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #75  
Old Posted Nov 2, 2014, 6:33 PM
vegeta_skyline's Avatar
vegeta_skyline vegeta_skyline is offline
Registered User, Maybe
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwils01 View Post
Your region looks very nice and you have put a lot of detail into your cities, they even look more realistic than mine. I also like that you have some custom content in you city because I find vanilla Sim City 4 to be boring. I look forward to seeing more of the region.
Thanks mate
I agree, if it wasn't for all the mods out there I would of given up on the game a long time ago. Yes those CJ's on Simtropolis have been a great source of inspiration in the past. But I haven't been on that site in a while. I found it took up too much of my time to regularly go through them. Some CJ's have dozens of pages and hundreds of images to go through which is problem considering a single image can take a minute or more load I don't know if they have slow servers or if its just my browser, but usually it doesn't take that long to load images of a similar size on other sites.

By the way, I wanted to say thanks for using my lots! Just another one of those things the game was lacking - smokestacks;

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwils01 View Post
Prostenco Steel Mill.
It's always cool to see them in other peoples city. Though it's kind of sad that they're the only lots I've ever released and they were made about a decade ago! I've made some buildings, about a half a dozen. But I've only ever been happy with the results for maybe two of them. Another problem is I could never get the frigg'in stupid nitelites to work, so I couldn't release even those two in such an unfinished state. I do use them in my big city though.

Here's one of them, a 2,210ft/673.5m tall telecommunications tower. Basically my CN Tower located on the waterfront of my main city;






Reply With Quote
     
     
  #76  
Old Posted Nov 2, 2014, 7:46 PM
vegeta_skyline's Avatar
vegeta_skyline vegeta_skyline is offline
Registered User, Maybe
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,232
But I was recently working on some new and very unique structures. I think I'll now be able to get back to and properly finish them and actually release them sometime soon hopefully.

Here's an overhead view shot of the main city, where you might notice those unique custom structures of mine amongst many other downloaded custom buildings.
hint; another type of tall/unusual structure, like smokestacks but not a smokestack.

a little closer...



Anyhow, here's some recent pic's of the core density(my other completed custom building is the red one one the left);






















And of course, the obligatory picturesque closeups. Or at least I hope they are










Reply With Quote
     
     
  #77  
Old Posted Nov 2, 2014, 7:53 PM
Beedok Beedok is offline
Exiled Hamiltonian
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,333
How do you guys get such clean and logical looking road systems? Is there some way to turn off the automated road building from Zone application?
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #78  
Old Posted Nov 2, 2014, 8:08 PM
vegeta_skyline's Avatar
vegeta_skyline vegeta_skyline is offline
Registered User, Maybe
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,232
It's a more time consuming method and requires some pre-planning. Basically you build out the road network first and then you place the zones. There's no way as far as I know to turn off automated road building, you just have to place small enough zones facing an existing street/road or plop down custom lots.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #79  
Old Posted Nov 2, 2014, 8:28 PM
Beedok Beedok is offline
Exiled Hamiltonian
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by vegeta_skyline View Post
It's a more time consuming method and requires some pre-planning. Basically you build out the road network first and then you place the zones. There's no way as far as I know to turn off automated road building, you just have to place small enough zones facing an existing street/road or plop down custom lots.
Okay. I've tried that, but most of the time it decides to do really weird things, residential can be an issue as small as a 2x3 area. I was hoping there was an easier way. It tends to go nuts on hills if you leave it to it's own devices.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #80  
Old Posted Nov 3, 2014, 3:57 AM
Dwils01's Avatar
Dwils01 Dwils01 is offline
Urban Fanactic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey
Posts: 3,055
Those buildings you made and those cities look great.
I downloaded the smokestacks because they were from Ontario and know I know why.
Simtropolis was down about a month ago for and couples of days and when it came back up pictures are now loading instantly instead of taking minutes to load.

I wanted to create building but my laptop can barely handle Sim City let alone 3ds max and I can't get the lot editor to open so batting is out for me for now.

I'm finishing up a small town on a big island that has a seaport for the eastern area of the region. Should finish it this week.
Reply With Quote
     
     
This discussion thread continues

Use the page links to the lower-right to go to the next page for additional posts
 
 
Reply

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > Canada
Forum Jump


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 9:55 AM.

     

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.