HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Discussion Forums > Buildings & Architecture > Completed Project Threads Archive

Old Posted Jun 9, 2015, 12:01 PM
you know where I'll be

Cool CHICAGO | CNA Center (151 N. Franklin) | 568 FT | 36 FLOORS

Given that we're a planned 3-4 months away from caissons here, and I think this tower is deserving, I thought it was time for its own thread.

As I'm just beginning to see some new renderings with a bit of a different design (have seen at least one other - night time rendering - as well, within the last week), I think it's possible (no inside knowledge here to confirm this) we may just be looking at a little VE-inspired redesign here: link below. The original did have curved glass I believe, which as I understand is pretty expensive. That said, if this is indeed the new design, I like it (obviously need to see more, and more detailed renderings) on its own merits.....

http://www.tjbc.com/current-projects/151-north-franklin

old rendering:

Last edited by Steely Dan; Sep 28, 2015 at 9:49 PM.

Old Posted Jun 9, 2015, 12:12 PM
The City

^ Damn, I preferred the curved glass

Old Posted Jun 9, 2015, 12:25 PM

Is this project really worthy of its own thread?

Old Posted Jun 9, 2015, 12:47 PM
you know where I'll be

^ Obviously my vote is yes.

It's arguably more important than a whole host of others that have recently had their own threads - Loews, 545 N. McClurg, Optima II, etc.
For those schoolchildren that think everything is about height, 151 may come out to about 570' or so in that respect, so that is I believe at the very least not disqualifying on its own.

Last edited by SamInTheLoop; Jun 9, 2015 at 1:04 PM.

Old Posted Jun 9, 2015, 1:49 PM
NYC/NJ/Miami-Dade

Old Posted Jun 9, 2015, 2:01 PM

Aug 2013

Aug 2014

Feb 2015

I guess a few more months won't kill us ......

Old Posted Jun 9, 2015, 4:47 PM
DENNAB