HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Photography Forums > General Photography

Old Posted Jul 16, 2009, 3:51 AM

Question Digital vs Film - Which is better?

I'm having a disagreement with my soon to be wife about choosing a package for our wedding photos. She wants to upgrade from the already included package deal we have in the yacht ceromony and go with digital photography.

I say we stick to the film, and didn't think there was a big difference in quality. Of course I'm no expert, but it was my understanding that film was still superior. Even from my own film photos, it looked to me as if they are better quality than with my new camera.

I also told my fiancee don't always buy into the sales pitch as its designed for those who a gullable and to get more money for something thats not necssary. Personally I do believe its not the camera, but how you use it that matters. Although I do realize there are of course better quality cameras, but even still if you don't know what you're doing with it, your photos can still be turn out awful as much of mine do.

Anyway I welcome your opinions.

Last edited by ChrisLA; Jul 16, 2009 at 5:28 AM.

Old Posted Jul 16, 2009, 4:46 AM
I Couldn't Tell Anyone

If it's something you'll want to preserve for a long time I'd go with film with a digital backup.

Old Posted Jul 16, 2009, 4:54 AM
Watchin em grow

Food for thought

Very few companies even make film anymore. Nikon just delisted one of their top films a few weeks back.

You can always have digital printed to photo paper.

Check out www.flickr.com and search groups for wedding photos. There are plenty of companies that post there to show samples to prospective clients.
Each photo will often have the EXIF data which shows the camera used to take the photo. Most images there are digital but some post scans of film.

Old Posted Jul 16, 2009, 8:50 AM
ʇɥƃıuʞ -*ʞpʇ*-

film is a hard copy didgital is didgital

Old Posted Jul 16, 2009, 9:18 AM
arf