HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Photography Forums > My City Photos

Old Posted Nov 12, 2012, 8:00 PM

Incidents in Manchuria

For stop three of my Asian tour I'll be focusing on the region of Manchuria. The region is comprised of the Northeast area of China and has a history filled with controversy, having been ruled and occupied by the Russians, Japanese, regional warlords and the Chinese. The title of this thread comes from the Manchurian Incident where the Japanese bombed one of their own railways under a false flag which they blamed on the Chinese. They used the incident to justify their invasion of the region which they occupied until the end of WWII.

As I explained in my last thread on Dalian, I am studying developing world infrastructure and was in China for a school project. The project focuses on improving the Chinese Kang heating system (pronouced Kong - like King Kong) which is heavily used in the region. Part of this project was to visit local communities to understand how people use their Kang and how they would feel about proposed technical improvements. I visited three separate communities:

The first was to an area just north of Dalian called Pulandian.

The second was to the border town of Dandong which sits on the Yalu river, about 200 km from Dalian. On the other side is the city of Sinuiju, North Korea. An old bridge that was bombed by the US in the Korean war serves as a major tourist attraction for the Chinese. I stayed in a hotel where all the workers were North Korean. I tried to speak to one through my Chinese translator but the girl didn't even understand Chinese. Bizarre.

The third was to a small farming village in Hebei (technically not Manchuria) where I stayed with a family and conducted a focus group with the locals.

Sorry for the long intro, I'll try to annotate some of the shots.